International Climate Financing

Climate change is one of the greatest challenges facing humanity with implications on health, agriculture, economy, trade, and transportation and energy infrastructure that is being felt by all countries. Developing countries, particularly the poorest and most vulnerable, are the hardest hit by climate change and many have limited capacity to prevent and cope with its consequences.

Canada’s international climate finance supports a wide range of programs and initiatives that help developing countries manage risks and build resilience to the impacts of climate change, deploy clean energy technology, and manage natural resources sustainably.

Canada is delivering $2.65 billion in climate finance to developing countries by 2020-21.

This contribution represents Canada’s largest climate finance contribution ever and will help developing countries, particularly the poorest and most vulnerable, transition to low-carbon economies and build climate resilience. This website provides information on how Canada will be supporting ambitious climate action in developing countries through this $2.65 billion pledge. Recent announcements made by Canada as part of this pledge can be found here.

This website also provides information on initiatives that have been undertaken from previous climate-specific support. Information on concrete results in developing countries can be found here. Detailed information on climate change projects and initiatives supported by Canada can be browsed by geographic distribution using the interactive map below or by clicking directly on region or country names. Projects can also be browsed by keywords and sectors using the search tool

World Map Africa Asia Europe Latin America and Caribbean Albania Argentina Armenia Barbados Benin Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Burkina Faso Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodia Cameroon Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Congo Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire Cuba Democratic Republic of Congo Dominica Dominican Republic Egypt Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Gabon Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guyana Haiti Honduras India Indonesia Jamaica Kenya Lao People's Democratic Republic Lesotho Malawi Mali Mauritania Mexico Myanmar Nepal Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Pakistan Peru Philippines Rwanda Samoa Sao Tome and Principe Senegal South Africa Sudan Swaziland Tanzania Thailand Trinidad and Tobago Uganda Uruguay Vietnam Zimbabwe

Africa

Asia

Europe

Latin America and Caribbean

Global Initiatives

Search


  • Canada’s contribution of $2.65 billion is a substantial increase from historical levels of climate funding, scaling up to $800 million during the fifth year (2020–2021), and representing a doubling of Canada’s previously largest climate investment ever.
  • This climate finance contribution supports the commitment that Canada made under the 2009 Copenhagen Accord to work with partners to jointly mobilize climate finance from a wide variety of sources, to reach US $100 billion annually by 2020.
  • Over recent years, donor countries have successfully scaled-up efforts to mobilize global climate finance. A recent report by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) estimated that donor countries mobilized USD $62 billion in climate finance in 2014, up from USD $52 billion in 2013.
  • Donor countries delivered a roadmap that illustrates our collective goal of mobilising US $100 billion per year by 2020 is well within reach. The roadmap provides clarity on the range of actions donors are taking to get there, including leveraging private sector finance, significantly scaling up finance for adaptation, and enhancing access to finance.
Date modified:

Financement international de la lutte contre les changements climatiques

Les changements climatiques constituent l’un des plus grands défis pour l’humanité; ses incidences sur la santé, l’agriculture, l’économie, le commerce et les infrastructures liées aux transports et à l’énergie se font ressentir dans tous les pays. Les pays en développement, surtout les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables, sont les plus durement touchés par les changements climatiques, et bon nombre d’entre eux disposent de capacités limitées pour en prévenir et en gérer les conséquences.

Le financement attribué par le Canada pour la lutte contre les changements climatiques soutient une vaste gamme de programmes et d’initiatives qui aident les pays en développement à gérer les risques et à accroître leur résilience au regard des impacts des changements climatiques, à déployer la technologie associée aux énergies propres, et à gérer leurs ressources naturelles de façon durable.

D’ici 2020-2021, le Canada accordera 2,65 milliards de dollars aux pays en voie de développement pour la lutte contre les changements climatiques.

Cette somme est la plus importante contribution financière du Canada à la lutte contre les changements climatiques; elle aidera les pays en développement, particulièrement les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables, dans leur transition vers une économie à faibles émissions et une résilience climatique. Le présent site fournit de l’information sur la façon dont le Canada utilisera cet engagement pour appuyer une action ambitieuse des pays en développement au regard des changements climatiques. Les annonces faites récemment par le Canada à propos de cet engagement se trouvent ici.

Ce site fournit également de l’information sur des initiatives qui ont été réalisées dans le cadre d’un soutien antérieur en matière de climat. De l’information sur des résultats concrets obtenus dans les pays en développement se trouve ici Des renseignements détaillés sur les projets et les initiatives concernant les changements climatiques peuvent être affichés par répartition géographique, à l’aide de la carte interactive ci-dessous, ou en cliquant sur le nom d’une région ou d’un pays. On peut également rechercher les projets par mots-clés ou par secteur à l’aide de l’outil de recherche.

Carte du monde Afrique Asie Europe Amérique latine Albanie Argentine Arménie Barbade Bénin Bhoutan Bolivie Bosnie-Herzégovine Botswana Brésil Burkina Faso Burundi Cabo Verde Cambodge Cameroun République centrafricaine Tchad Chili Chine Colombie Congo Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire Cuba République démocratique du Congo Dominique République dominicaine Égypte Guinée équatoriale Éthiopie Gabon Géorgie Ghana Grenade Guatemala Guinée Guyana Haïti Honduras Inde Indonésie Jamaïque Kenya Lao, République démocratique populaire Lesotho Malawi Mali Mauritanie Mexique Myanmar Népal Nicaragua Niger Nigéria Pakistan Pérou Philippines Rwanda Samoa Sao Tomé-et-Principe Sénégal Afrique du Sud Soudan Swaziland Tanzanie Thaïlande Trinité-et-Tobago Ouganda Uruguay Vietnam Zimbabwe

Afrique

Asie

Europe

Amérique latine

Initiatives mondiales

Recherche


  • La contribution de 2,65 milliards de dollars du Canada représente une hausse considérable par rapport aux niveaux historiques de financement de la lutte contre les changements climatiques. Elle atteindra 800 millions de dollars dans la cinquième année (2020-2021) et représentera le double du précédent investissement le plus élevé réalisé par le Canada en matière de climat.
  • Cette contribution soutient l’engagement, pris par le Canada dans le cadre de l’Accord de Copenhague de 2009, d’œuvrer avec ses partenaires afin de mobiliser conjointement, en puisant à diverses sources, 100 milliards de dollars américains par an d’ici 2020.
  • Au cours des dernières années, les pays donateurs ont réussi à rehausser les efforts pour mobiliser le financement de la lutte contre les changements climatiques à l’échelle mondiale. Un rapport récent de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) estime que les pays donateurs ont rassemblé 62 milliards de dollars américains en financement de la lutte contre les changements climatiques en 2014, contre 52 milliards en 2013.
  • Les pays donateurs ont élaboré une feuille de route qui montre comment notre objectif collectif de mobiliser 100 milliards de dollars par an d'ici 2020 est à portée de main. Cette feuille de route jette un éclairage sur les différentes mesures prises par les donateurs pour atteindre l’objectif, p. ex. la mobilisation d’un financement du secteur privé, une augmentation substantielle du financement consacré à l’adaptation et l’amélioration de l’accès au financement.
Date modified: